One of the highlights of Nurses Week each year at Rapides Regional Medical Center is our Nurse Excellence Awards, held May 9 in the Cascade Room at Rapides Women's and Children's Hospital.

Karen Hathorn, MSN, RN, NE-BC, Administrative Director of Rapides Cancer Center, received the the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Other top nursing recognition went to :

  • Nurse Leader of the Year - Brittani Parker, Emergency Department
  • Mentors of the Year - Jennifer Jeansonne, 4 South, and Stephen Wells, Medical ICU
  • Trauma Nurse of the Year - Connor Fontenot, Emergency Department
  • Preceptors of the Year - Angela Coco, Newborn ICU, and Payten Collins, Emergency Department
  • Rookies of the Year - Abby Roy Mayeux, Emergency Department, and Camryn Mayeux, Medical ICU

Receiving Excellence in Clinical Practice awards were:

  • Dessia Allen, Emergency Department
  • Terra Ashworth, 3A
  • Khae Augustine, Medical ICU
  • Tiffany Bray, 7A
  • Cherie Chenevert, Labor & Delivery
  • Kristen Gericke, Emergency Department
  • Heather Gunn Townsend, 4 South
  • Tammy Lavespere, Day Surgery
  • Jenny Lynn Paul, W2